Oregon Coast VanSlam

Cade & Kingston

Cade & Kingston

Well we’re just back from a wonderful camping trip on the Oregon coast.  We linked up with my niece Lexy and her husband, Charlie.  Proud owners of a cool little Westfalia VW camper, they drove up the California coast from Venice Beach, CA.

Jane

Jane

We had my sister-in-law, Debi and her granddaughter Jane on board with us.  We’d picked them up at the SEA-TAC airport the evening before. They flew in from Denver, CO.

And of course we were joined by our daughter Leane and her crew of Dudes.  I think we have to credit Leane with the original concept of the “VanSlam”.

We choose Beverly Beach State Park, about 7 miles north of Newport, OR.  It was about 1/2 way down the Oregon coast and had a perfect little trail to the beach running under Highway 101.

Beverly Beach

Beverly Beach

So before I get too wordy… How about we take a look at a little movie we made.  Then I’ll drop a few more photos in after the show.

Here is a little more beach fun for you.

Nalu

Nalu

This little pup, Nalu was like a rocket when chasing the ball down the beach.

The Dudes took an immediate liking to Nalu and she followed them everywhere.

Duke

Duke

Speaking of running wild on the beach… Well, you already saw the movie, so you know what I’m gonna say.

The King – Thank you very much!

K-Town

K-Town

Sporting their Westy hats

Sporting their Westy hats

Sunday afternoon found us all headed out.  Lexy and Charlie were driving south.  The Dudes and me and Suzie were driving Jane and Debi north to the Portland airport, they were catching a flight back to Denver.

We still had a couple of camp days left on our itinerary so we crossed back into Washington and dropped in to Seaquest State Park, at the base of the Mt. Saint Helens road.

Logging truck blasted by the 1980 eruption

Logging truck blasted by the 1980 eruption

Even though the weather had turned to rain we decided to make the drive up to the volcano and see what we could see.  As we discovered… not much at the top.  But there was still some highlights along the way.

Pre-flight check

Pre-flight check

At one of our stops the Dudes all went down to look at the helicopter (grounded due to the weather).  When the pilot saw the the excited little guys he invited them to have a seat in the cockpit and gave us a brief run down of the operation.  Thanks Michael Carroll of Hillsboro Aviation.  And thanks for the stickers too.

Helicopter Tours

Helicopter Tours

Well, thats about it for this one.  I thought I would save my favorite image for last… but, really, it’s pretty hard to tell which one was my favorite image.

Cade and Nalu

Cade and Nalu

Till next time.  Thanks for following along on our travels.  Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Hiker, Kayaker, Motorbike Rider, Cyclist, Photographer, *Grandpa*
This entry was posted in Bicycle, Birds, Camping, Dudes, Music, Photography, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oregon Coast VanSlam

  1. MrsBoardwell says:

    Well. It’s 5:30am and I must say I’m starting the day being jealous! Look at your weather!!!??? Look at those cute kids!!!! Look at all the fun you had!!!! You’re right, pretty hard to chose a favourite image, they’re all too cute! Also loving the gratuitous dog shot :)
    If I was you I wouldn’t have liked to go home. Ever. But that’s just me. Because I’m jealous :)
    PS: have also embraced videoing. If only to capture puppy moments. Look for us on Facebook ;)

    • Jeff Katzer says:

      I was thinking of you when I was editing the pics of Nalu. I knew I would have you hooked. Thanks again for being such a faithful follower… I’m headed right over to FaceBook to give your pups a virtual scratch behind the ears.

  2. RenoGrace says:

    What fun and sure enjoyed this post. My mom and dad love the Orygun coast and they take me sometimes. We were there a couple of months ago: http://www.graceaustin.com/?p=2983 The Orygun coast is a great place for a family vacation.
    Luvs and Hugs, …RenoGrace

Leave a Reply

