The Bear Lake Freeze Out

Sunrise

Sunrise

I was ready before the sun came up… But there was no way I was going to roll out until things warmed up a bit.  At least a little bit.

Bear Lake

Bear Lake

My plan was to ride the Yamaha WR250R, or as you may have heard it called – the Strike Force Moto – up into the mountains and then hike into Bear Lake.  But since the lake was at about 2700 feet elevation and since the temperature was still hovering at freezing, it was doubtful I would actually get to the lake.

I waited until almost 1000 but there didn’t seem to be too much warmth coming from the low arc of the sun as it skidded across the mountaintops.  It was time to go!

Forest Road 4020

Forest Road 4020

Here is a little movie clip that pretty much sums up the trip:

The Mountain Loop Hwy. proved to be the sketchiest part of the journey.  There were a couple of icy places along the river where falling down and sliding could have had some nasty consequences.  The Forest Service roads were actually easier to navigate than the paved roads… That is until I climbed up into the snow.  Once the tire tracks became frozen I figured it was time to count my blessings and turn for home.

Headed Back

Headed Back

Two of the blessings I counted as I made my way down the mountain were Oxford heated grips, and Gerbings heated jacket.

Happy to report I made it home without incident.  I’m pretty sure that the next time I’m up in the mountains carving turns I’ll be on my XC skis.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Hiker, Kayaker, Motorbike Rider, Cyclist, Photographer, *Grandpa*
This entry was posted in Hiking, Motorbike, Photography, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bear Lake Freeze Out

  1. D Knight says:

    Gutsy riding! I hit snow a couple weeks ago up high and decided my mountain riding was done for the year. Like you, next time I’m up there, it’ll be on snowshoes.

Leave a Reply

