The Zoom H1 – Yikes!

The Zoom H1 Handy Recorder

The Zoom H1 Handy Recorder

Ok, this is gonna get a little technical, and my brain is ALREADY spinning from trying to understand 48/16 kHz, sampling frequencies, X / Y stereo mic,  and digital attenuation…

So, I got a new Zoom H1 digital recorder and I’m deep diving into the world of digital sound editing.

Tech Specs

Tech Specs

Just a quick look at the manufacture’s photo describing all the buttons  and settings had me scratching my head.

Imagine what happened in my head when I started reviewing tutorials for competing digital audio editing programs.  Yikes!

Indoors

Indoors

Well, the idea started as a “work thing”.  I needed a way to get a nice clear audio track on firearms training videos, when the environments where I was filming in included ventilation fans, airplane noise, and of course gunfire.  The Zoom H1 offered a way to attach a lavaliere mic on my instructor/demonstrator, and have the audio go straight into the digital recorder (in his pocket).  Thus allowing the camera to film from any angle to get the exact shot I needed.  Sweet!

Outdoor

Outdoor

They say that as we humans age it is important for us to continue to “work” our brains and to always be learning new things to stimulate our brains…

Well at this rate I’m gonna live to be 300 years old, because my brain has been  working overtime the past few days.

Editing a training video

Editing a training video

Syncing 3 audio tracks

Syncing 3 audio tracks

Ah, but this is the place where the creative fun starts to happen.  Now I’m thinking about all the cool applications where a nice clear audio track would be a great addition to some action footage, or having a crisp, clean, stereo music track for those Kani Ka Pila campfire jam sessions on the next VanSlam.

Kani Ka Pila

Kani Ka Pila

Ok that’s it for now.  I gotta get back to the virtual classroom and “crack the books” for my next continuing education session.

Below is a little 1 minute video where I am experimenting with the blending of three separate  audio tracks, and trying to get them all synced to sound as one.

Warning: Ukulele dork alert…

Thanks for following along.  Till next time.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Music, Photography, Projects, Video and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Zoom H1 – Yikes!

  1. Kevin says:

    hey JK,
    Wow, looks like quite the learning curve, good luck and I’ll be standing by for more with this new toy.
    my photographer friend Jim Havey has been working 3 projector slide show presentaions for over 20 years and the high end audio adds so much to it, you’ll be very happy you did this- probably already are :) -KK

Leave a Reply

