Cowiche Canyon

Canyon Overlook

Canyon Overlook

That’s Cowiche Canyon down there.  I spent the day riding along the canyon trail and enjoying a day in the relative warmth (68 degrees).  I thought I’d share a few photos with you all.

Rolling down the canyon

Rolling down the canyon

I parked at the east end of the trail, a few miles east of Yakima.

The sunny Sunday weather meant that I’d be sharing the trail with a few of the locals, but in reflection, every one I passed offered me a nice wave and a smile.

 

 

In the canyon

In the canyon

One of the newer bridges

One of the newer bridges

Easter Island Man

Easter Island Man

My pre-ride research had me looking for this guy.  He is one of the most photographed rock formations along the trail.

I was thinking Easter Island statues, what do you think?

I pedaled down stream for about an hour, including a few dozen stops to take photos.

I was really impressed with the work of the local beaver population… those guys were really working hard all along the creek.

Beaver's Work

Beaver’s Work

More Beaver's Work

More Beaver’s Work

The Vineyard Trailhead

The Vineyard Trailhead

On my route downstream I noted a side trail that climbed up out of the canyon to a vineyard up on the ridge.  Of course the sign advising “wine tasting room” didn’t have much draw to me, but I thought maybe I’ll just scramble up there and buy a bottle of wine for Susan.

Well, a scramble is exactly what it turned out to be.  I pedaled a bit of the trail but most of it was just way to steep, rocky, and loose to get much traction.

Pano from high up on the ridge

Pano from high up on the ridge

Hike-a-bike

Hike-a-bike

Still Climbing

Still Climbing

Eventually the switchbacks ended and the trail was a little more rideable.  I continued up, and over a couple more rocky hills and popped out on the back side of the vineyard.

 

 

 

 

The Vineyard

The Vineyard

I rode through the rows of grape vines and pulled up to the wine tasting room, where the conversation when something like this, “I’m looking for a red, a cabernet, that will fit into my bike jersey back pocket”.  After a few giggles, the girls in the shop suggested their favorite vintage and we tried the pocket fit.  Prefect!

The pocket carry

The pocket carry

I took it a little easier going back down the hill just to insure that there wasn’t a big crash that left me covered in broken glass and red wine.

Cabernet Carry

Cabernet Carry

Well, I’m happy to report that the wine   (and I) both made it back to the van without incident.

That’s it for now.  Thanks for riding along.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Bicycle, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cowiche Canyon

  1. kevin says:

    JK, nice story, loved the canyon part (picture) and the guardian head along the way. Great Idea having a back way into the vineyard. -KK

Leave a Reply

