Beckler Peak

I was out of the house before dawn and headed up Hwy. 2 in a thick fog.  I expected the fog to burn off as I made my way up FS Road 6066 to the Beckler Peak trailhead…but it was hanging on.  When I hit the trail about 0800 I had the whole mountain to myself.

Looking West from Beckler Peak

Looking West from Beckler Peak

My route followed an old logging road for a ways and then switchbacked up a ridge.  As I gained altitude the weather began to warm up a bit.  I figured about 40-41 degrees.

Hiking Up Through the Fog

Hiking Up Through the Fog

Stairway to Heaven

Stairway to Heaven

The old growth forest eventually gave way to shrubs and granite outcroppings, and beautiful mountain views in every direction.

Glacier Peak

Glacier Peak

Beckler Peak

Beckler Peak - the end of the trail

Coffee Break - at the top

Coffee Break - at the top

Did I mention the beautiful mountain views?

Did I mention the beautiful mountain views?

Mt. Daniel

Mt. Daniel

I'm Ready For Fall

I'm Ready For Fall

After lounging around at the top for a while I started back down the trail.  I figured my round trip was about 8 miles and 2262 feet of elevation gain…And 2262 feet of descending with only one of my trekking poles operating correctly.  Crap!

Kat

 

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Hiking, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

