Skagit Island Kayak

Skagit Island

Skagit Island

It was a beautiful day for a little kayak trip.  My destination was a tiny little rock called Skagit Island, that sits just inside Whidbey Island.

A check of the tides and currents revealed that I was going to see a minus 2.26 foot tide at 1333 hours.  That calculated out to a flow of 1.6 knots at the peak of the ebb.  Yikes!

In my Ocean-Kayak sit-on-top, Scupper Pro I was going to have to work a little bit to paddle against that kind of current…Or I could just pull in to some island and lounge around until the tide changed.  Yep, that sounded better.

Current Tables

Current Tables

Chart of Skagit Island

Chart of Skagit Island

I had a wonderful day on the water.  Here is a little movie that I made of the day:

It’s pretty clear to see that I was solo on this adventure.  Any time you see me driving into a scene or walking into the camera’s view and then walking away you gotta think…Yep, nobody else is going to be waiting around for all that camera setup time 🙂

Common loon

Common loon

By the way, that beautiful portrait of the common loon in the movie, is from my iBird Pro iPad app.

Lily

Avalanche Lily

These avalanche lilies were all over the north shore of the island.

Wildflowers

Wildflowers

The views from the SW corner of the island are fabulous.  I sat in the sun and had some lunch (waiting for the current to ease up a bit).

Break Time

Break Time

Yep, kicking back on the cliff watching to seals and cormorants below was the perfect place to wait out the changing of the tide.

Thanks for reading/watching my little Adventure Journal.  Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Hiking, Kayak, Photography, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

