The Dosewallips Van Slam

Leane and Richie

Leane and Richie

“Right, What’s a Dosewallips?”  Or, “What’s a Van Slam, for that matter?” Well, the Dosewallips is a river on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State.  The name comes from a  Twana Native American myth about a man named   Dos-wail-opsh who was turned into a mountain at the river’s source.

A Van Slam, on the other hand is a term made up by my daughter Leane.  I think she coined the phrase a couple of years ago when they got their VW Westfalia camper van to go traveling with Suzie and me, in our VW Eurovan camper.  Since then we have enjoyed many happy travels with our little campers.  Here are some photos and a little movie from our campout at Dosewallips State Park:

Kani Ka Pila

Kani Ka Pila

In the image above, Richie and I are enjoying a little Kani Ka Pila time.  That’s an Hawaiian tradition of family and friends gathering for an informal music circle, often featuring ukuleles.  On this trip we were joined by my old friend Dave.  Dave is a fabulous harmonica player and can instantly play any song you can sing.  What a treat that was for us!

Evening settles in on our camp

Evening settles in on our camp

Classic cartoons on an outdoor screen

Classic cartoons on an outdoor screen

Leane making Glow Stick figures for the dudes

Leane making Glow Stick figures for the dudes

Flame On

Flame On

We had a wonderful evening with family and friends.  I’ve known Beth her whole life and it was such a joy to spend some time with her and her dudes.  Every time her dad (Dave) and I get together, Dave almost automatically begins to recite the same old stories, recounting all of our adventures from years gone by… Beth and I agreed… We’d be so disappointed if he ever stopped retelling the tales.

Hood Canal

Hood Canal

Returning on the ferry

Returning on the ferry

Reflections

Reflections

Upon reflection… Did I just type that?  Anyway, it was a wonderful weekend with wonderful friends and family.  I realize that our dudes are growing up really quickly and that’s cool… As long as I still have one of them small enough to take naps in my front pack.  After that, I don’t know what I’m gonna do.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Camping, Dudes, Music, Photography, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dosewallips Van Slam

  1. Sure looks like you all had a great time!

  2. MrsBoardwell says:

    morning Kat (and HOW jealous am I right now looking at your pics), looks absolutely amazing, it’s like I’m there (well, almost ^-^). I don’t see any marshmallows on the fire though….? It sure looks like you’ve had an amazing time making memories with the family and that’s what it’s all about, innit!? [PS: loving the outdoor screens, not seen one of them about. Yet ^-^]
    until soon……
    Babs

Leave a Reply

