The Digital Moleskine Notebook

Hammock Camping in Umtanum Creek

Hammock Camping in Umtanum Creek

Over the years I have sure scribbled a lot of stuff down in my Moleskine notebooks.  The high points of just about every backpacking trip, MotoRaid, and kayaking adventure has found it’s way into one of these handy little journals.

The history of the actual Moleskine goes back about two hundred years. Explorers, artists, and adventures have been jotting down their thoughts in these classic notebooks all over the globe, for the past couple of centuries.  Here is a fun link to the Legendary Moleskine Notebook.

Note taking on the West Coast Trail

Note taking on the West Coast Trail

So now here we are in the 21st century and there is a new twist in the old journal writing game. The iPad Mini has hit the deck and it is only slightly larger than my trusty Moleskine.  Pretty sure the old school pen and paper notebook is never gonna fade away, but I think this new “Digital Moleskine Notebook” is the wave of the future.  I can see it streamlining my first draft of many of the stories I write while I’m “on the road”.  In addition to that I know I am a better (more complete) note taker when I’m typing rather than writing with a pen… Alas, that is the world we’re living in.  Adapt, Evolve, Adjust or get out of the way!

The "Digital Moleskine Notebook"

The “Digital Moleskine Notebook”

Thanks for following along with my Adventure Journal… It’s time to go outside and play.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Camping, Hiking, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Digital Moleskine Notebook

  1. Julie says:

    Welcome to the 21st century, Kat! I LOVE my iPad!

    • Jeff Katzer says:

      Thanks Pal. This is actually my 2nd iPad. Susan got my trusty old iPad 1… It was just a little too big to slide into a pocket and dash out the door. Thanks again for ALL the kind words and comments on my photos and posts. You’re the best.

  2. brucebosman says:

    I too have given in to the electronic age. I carry a very small (light) digital recorder with me on my bike trips. It doesn’t have the romance of the moleskine but works well to make sure important details make it into my stories. Keep those posts coming Jeff.

  3. Pingback: Chuckanut S-24-O | The Adventure Journal

Leave a Reply

