A “Creative” Perfect Storm

Les Stroud - Survivorman

Les Stroud – Survivorman

Every once in a while there are events in our lives where delightful pleasures seem to come crashing in together in a wonderful “perfect storm” kind a way. I’ll give the chocolate and banana milkshake as an example…

There are also those times when interesting and creative people come together for a few  marvelous moments, to entertain and inspire guys like me.  Today was on of those days.  Somehow I managed to find myself in the front row as Chase Jarvis, world famous photographer, author, and commercial filmmaker, interviewed the one and only Survivorman – Les Stroud.  For anyone not familiar with Chase Jarvis’ work, just flip open an REI catalogue and more likely than not you will be looking at one (or several) of Chase’s images.  Chase also wrote a wonderful little book entitled The Best Camera Is The One That’s With You, and developed one of the first iPhone camera apps with the same name.  A man truly ahead of his time.  Chase Jarvis Live is his webcast show featuring interviews with dozens of talented photographers, as well as other creative people.

When I heard that Les Stroud was headed down to Seattle to be a guest, I immediately emailed Chase, begging for a front row seat.  And so there I was along with 20 or 30 other Survivorman fanboys (and a couple of fangirls) along with Chase’s own mom and dad.

Here are a few photos followed by a short highlight reel at the end.

Chase Jarvis' Studio

Chase Jarvis’ Studio

The camera jib

The camera jib

I really enjoyed watching the whole production of the Live show.

My front row seat

My front row seat

Great stories

Great stories

Lots of laughs

Lots of laughs

People watching all over the world

People watching all over the world

...and me, right in the heart of the action

…and me, right in the heart of the action

Les entertained us with a few songs

Les entertained us with a few songs

Chase and me

Chase and me

I was delighted to see that Chase is still “just a photographer” at heart…

Just another Survivorman fanboy

Just another Survivorman fanboy

Ok, here is a little video:

Les Stroud and me

Les Stroud and me

Well I could not have dreamed of a more “Perfect Storm” of creativity and inspiration.  I was invited to ask a “live” question and both Chase and Les just looked me in the eye and spoke to me across the table sincerely and honestly, just like I was visiting with them in their living room.  I even talked with Chase’ dad after the show and we found out that one thing we both had in common was we were both VERY proud of our sons.

For my son, Travis, sorry you couldn’t make it buddy.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Music, Photography, Video and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A “Creative” Perfect Storm

  1. Tim Bowman says:

    Kat, you lucky dog. Les is one of my favorites of this type TV genre.

Leave a Reply

