Nisqually NWR

Bunny

Bunny

At the southern end of Puget Sound, just north of the state capital in Olympia, is a marvelous little place called the Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge.

Today I spent much of the day there, wandering along among the forested paths and wooden boardwalks.

How about I share a few photos with you, and then, a little movie.

Nisqually NWR

Nisqually NWR

The river was named for the Nisqually band of Native Americans.  A rough translation of Nisqually meant “People of the River”.

Forested boardwalks

Forested boardwalks

These beautiful wooden boardwalks flow through the leafy green forest.

A greater yellowlegs tip-toes through the marsh

A greater yellowlegs tip-toes through the marsh

The forest gives way to an expansive river delta, and saltwater marsh.

Bald eagle

Bald eagle

You know, I live right above the Snohomish River and I see bald eagles almost every day… Buy still, EVERY time I see them I stop in my tracks, no matter what I’m doing, and just gawk at the magnificent birds until they are out of sight.  Today was no different.

How about a little movie clip.  That background music is from the sound track of a movie called The Commitments.  The song is Slip Away.  I could not think of a better place to “slip away” for a morning nature walk!

Harbor Seal Pup

Harbor Seal Pup

Hey don’t worry about this little guy.  Harbor seal moms often leave their pups unattended on a beach or hauled out on a rock for hours while they go off and forage of food.

Till next time, Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Birds, Hiking, Photography, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nisqually NWR

  1. Tim B says:

    Very nice Jeff. I’ve wanted to stop there for some time.

  2. Bruce Bosman says:

    Great photos and story tour Jeff.

    • Jeff Katzer says:

      Thanks pal. I hit that NWR on my way down here to Vancouver WA. Now I’m spending a couple weeks with T-Kat in my instructor school. How cool is that?

Leave a Reply

