Coal Lake

The New Moto

The New Moto

So there it is.  We picked up the new motorbike yesterday.  After a little “get acquainted ride” for some sunset photos I gassed up for an early departure.

Dawn on Thursday morning snuck in quietly and painted the mountains a beautiful reddish-orange.  There were a few wispy clouds decorating the eastern sky, and it took every fiber of my being to resist the urge to just run down to the garage and take off for the hills… The time was 0522.

 

NW Forest Pass

NW Forest Pass

Finally, later that morning I was on my way to explore some Forest Service roads in the Mount Baker – Snoqualmie National Forest.  I checked in at the Ranger Station in Verlot for some map recon with the ranger.  She suggested FS 4060, the Coal Lake Road, because from the exposed heights where the road climbs along the edge of the mountains there were great views back down to Big Four Mountain.  I also asked her to have a look at the photo collage of parking passes I made in an effort to avoid having to hang my “real” pass on my moto (for anyone to steal) while it was parked at a trailhead.  I was delighted to learn that the rangers don’t really enforce the NW forest pass requirements for motorcycles for that very reason.

So, lets get right down to the photos:

Fireweed near Big Four Mt.

Fireweed near Big Four Mt.

Climbing up FS Road 4060

Climbing up FS Road 4060

Coal Lake

Coal Lake

I made the short hike into Coal Lake.  When I got to this view point I had a little snack and watched the fish jumping.

FS 4060 cuts into the cliff

FS 4060 cuts into the cliff

The Stillaguamish River

The Stillaguamish River

The midday sun found me scampering back for home.  As a final note, I might add that when I fueled up I was able to calculate my milage… 71.18 MPG!  How do you like that?

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Hiking, Motorbike, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coal Lake

  1. Tim Bowman says:

    Very cool ride and hike! I really like the bike. How’s the seat height for you?

    • Jeff Katzer says:

      Tim, the seat height it “towering”. I added a lowering link and raised the forks 1/2 inch, so it’s a little better… But its gonna take some getting used to.

  2. Bruce Bosman says:

    Great photos Jeff. I think I will need to change up my cycling to include some trails and FS roads.

Leave a Reply

