Evans Lake and Mt. Sobieski

Skykomish River

Skykomish River

A beautiful morning overlooking the Skykomish River.  I’m headed off to the mountains on the little moto again.  Today my destination is Evans Lake, in the Alpine Lakes Wilderness Area.  My old friend NF Road 68 will take me to the trailhead… then a short hike to a secluded mountain lake.

Gerbing Heated Gear

Gerbing Heated Gear

Here is a welcome new addition to my comfort zone.  This portable heat controller for my Gerbings heated vest easily reduces my “SNIV-CON” level by at least 3 notches.  If your not familiar with the “Snivel Condition Level” ratings, well here is a brief run down:  Similar to the military’s DEF-CON ratings, the higher my number is the more likely I’m going to be whimpering  about being too cold and end up running for cover.

Mr Happy approves!

Mr Happy approves!

Had a little rain shower on the way up but eventually the weather cleared and I was treated to another gorgeous day in the mountains.

Foss River

Foss River

Mist on the water

Mist on the water

The views were epic!

The views were epic!

In case you were wondering if there was gonna be a movie… Yep!

By noon the weather had warmed up nicely and the heated vest was a distant memory.  I had to do some trick riding to avoid the traffic in Monroe from the Evergreen State Fair.  I won’t elaborate on that just in case some of my Monroe Police pals read this little story.

Donkey fun

Donkey fun

One last thing.  As I was blasting along the backroads I came upon a pasture of little donkeys… I couldn’t resist stopping and visiting for a while…  I’m gonna come back with my van and grab a couple of them.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Hiking, Motorbike, Photography, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Evans Lake and Mt. Sobieski

  1. Dan Knight says:

    Thats pretty funny! Love sharing your adventures! Dan

  2. Bruce Bosman says:

    Very nice Jeff. I love the mountain view photo.

Leave a Reply

