The Setup

Heated Vest Controller

Heated Vest Controller

Ok, so right from the start I know that this post will be of interest to only a few of my WordPress and Facebook friends, but what the heck, I thought I would share some photos of the cool gadgets and doo-dads that I have added to the WR250R.

I know you already met Mr. Happy and read of his approval of the Gerbings heated vest controller.  But with a little adapter I was able to eliminate an extra wire and run both my heated vest and my battery tender hook up through the same cable.

Battery Tender

Battery Tender

Here is my cute little Wolfman tank bag.  I fits the WR250R like a glove.

Wolfman Tank Bag

Wolfman Tank Bag

I needed a rear rack and after some exhaustive inter web research I decided on this beauty from Pro Moto Billet.

Pro Moto Billet

Pro Moto Billet

Needless to say, drilling 4 holes in my nice shiny fender took a bit of a leap of faith.

Oxford Heated Grips

Oxford Heated Grips

Next was the addition of Oxford heated grips with a waterproof control box.  Here’s the deal with heated grips… Once you have experienced how wonderful they are, you’re pretty much addicted for life.  You will have to have them on every motorbike you own for the rest of forever.  You’ve been warned!

Barkbuster Storm Handguards

Barkbuster Storm Handguards

Not only do the Barkbusters provide great protection for your handlebars, levers, grips, and controls; they also help to shield your gloves from the nasty weather.  I had these same handguards on my old KLR and knew they would be just the ticket for the WR250R.

Garmin Montana

Garmin Montana

“Ready to Navigate”… Well, yes I am, but there are still about a jillion things to learn to on my new GPS.  Man the technology of this thing compared to my old Garmin eTrex.  Yikes, think “Battlestar Galactica” and you’ll get the picture.  You can see the controller for the heated grips above on the left.

Arai XD4 Helmet

Arai XD4 Helmet

So thats about it for now.  I did finally take the plunge and buy a new helmet.  My old HJC modular had about 5 years and 50,000 miles on it.  I pulled this Arai XD4 on my noggin and immediately loved it.

I guess now all that’s left is to go out and ride.  Zoom…….

Kat

 

 

 

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Motorbike, Photography, Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Setup

  1. Great Post. That is certainly the most farkled WR250 that I’ve ever seen ……I perhaps the most smartly farkled one on planet earth. Great job Jeff, good fun you’re sharing. …John (in reno)

  2. D Knight says:

    Nice article, really enjoyed it. My bike came with stuff like hand guards and heated grips, but I have been drooling over the Montana 650t! How do you like the 600? The rack and tank bag are awesome! Read lots of good things on the XD4! Great choice!

    I’m sending you some photos of my trips. I haven’t got to writing on World Press yet, but in mean to soon! Promise.

    I’ll miss seeing you next week at the updates. Hopefully we can catch up early next year.

    Dan

  3. MrsBoardwell says:

    Would love to leave some v technical and brotherly feedback but as I know naaaaawwwthing about bikes will leave it at………….errrrrr………….nice colours!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

