Table Mountain

The North Cascades

The North Cascades

The cold foggy morning started to brighten up a bit as I rolled north on WA. SR9.  Just across the Whatcom County line I stopped to examine the first distant glimpses of the North Cascades.  Looked like it was gonna be a brilliant day.

I was headed up the Mt. Baker Road, Hwy. 542, for a little combination – motorbike trip/hiking trip.  I wanted to hike up to Table Mountain for those 360 degree views, and I wanted to pilot the WR250R through those 35 + miles of smooth sweepers, and tight twisty turns.  Really it’s more like 70 miles because you got to come back down too.

Strike Force Moto

Strike Force Moto

So I strapped a little waterproof bag to the back rack, along with my trekking poles and took off for the mountains.

It looks like I have a new name for this nifty little motorbike.  Thanks to my friend Cabot.  A few days ago when I posted a photo of the moto overlooking a beach on Camano Island, Cabot, a former US Army Special Forces NCO, posted – Strike Force Bike, easy in/out where ever…..

“Strike Force Moto” Thanks Cabot, I think the name is gonna stick.

So here you go.  I took a bunch of photos and made a little movie.  Let’s run the video, and then I’ll stack some photos in behind that.

Picture Lake

Picture Lake

That’s Mt. Shuksan, pretty much the star of the show today.

Artists Point Parking Lot

Artists Point Parking Lot

If you look real close you can see my tiny little motorbike in the lot.  Where did all these cars come from.  I had the road almost completely to myself coming up.

Granite polished smooth by glaciers

Granite polished smooth by glaciers

Autumn colors are starting to show

Autumn colors are starting to show

Mt. Baker

Mt. Baker

Mt. Shuksan

Mt. Shuksan

I actually had this last image already composed in my mind before the hike.  I had to get right down on the ground with my camera an inch from the water to even see this reflection.

The Money Shot

The Money Shot

That’s it for now.  Thanks for following along with my travels.  Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Hiking, Motorbike, Photography, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Table Mountain

  1. Timmer says:

    Nice little report. You picked the best day of the week for the ride!! The mountain shot is front page material.

  2. Norma Jean Niemiec says:

    Hi There! Terrific photos. Especially the lake/mountain shot. Beautiful ! !!

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. MrsBoardwell says:

    I agree with Timmer up there, definitely front page material! Wowzers, what amazing scenery!!! You must have had an absolute blast, lucky beggar!
    PS: must remember the *walk towards camera* pose should vanplusfour ever get to grips with the vid upgrade 🙂

    • Jeff Katzer says:

      Thanks so much for the kind words. That was a great trip, and the only really nice day in the middle of a stretch of crummy days. Just a couple of days later and it is snowing like crazy up there.

  4. Kevin says:

    Another great assortment of photos JK. and as a bonus, “Strike Force Moto” nickname come to light! -KK

  5. Humbled Pie says:

    Great photos! Thanks for sharing your trip with us.

  6. Pingback: A Beautiful Day to Ride | The Journey of Two

  7. Pingback: A Beautiful Day to Ride | The Journey of Two

Leave a Reply

