Cap Sante Headland

Tommy Thompson Trail

Tommy Thompson Trail

Out for a little spin today.  I was headed up to the Cap Sante headland on the Rockhopper.  I launched from the Park & Ride on Marches Point and it took less than 5 seconds to discover that I did not nearly have enough layers of clothing on.  With that chilling problem solved I took off across the water on the Tommy Thompson Trail.  I was expecting to see some common loons along this section.  It’s amazing how big those suckers are when you’re looking down over the top of them, as opposed to how little of their bodies you see when you spot one out in the middle of an alpine lake, since they ride so low in the water.  Looking straight down on a loon it appears to be about the size of a Radio Flyer wagon… but not so red.

Hooded Merganser

Hooded Merganser

Ok, that next photo is really just a tease.  There is a hooded merganser in there but you’ll have to “click” on it to spot him.

I enjoyed a swift passage into the town of Anacortes, WA and looked around the historic downtown area for someplace to grab a little lunch.  There were a hundred choices of course and eventually I pulled up at a cool little cafe’ that offered breakfast all day… How could I go wrong.

The Island Cafe

The Island Cafe

I murdered a plate of hash browns and eggs, and made sure to send out a quick FaceBook photo to remind all my mountain bike pals that I was busy goofing off while they were working.

With my engine refueled I set off for Cap Sante headland.  It was an “energetic” climb up to the top and once on the summit it was clear that I was not the only person to think this was a good day to take in the views.

Cap Sante

Cap Sante

Urban Deer

Urban Deer

One always has to be careful on the descent from Cap Sante because of the urban deer that just wander all over the roadway.  This little doe had a fawn with her.  I could just see that little one’s ear behind the shrub.

Marches Point

Marches Point

Madrona Bark

Madrona Bark

Man that magic golden hour, that all photographers love, sure comes early on these almost winter days.  The shadows on the water and the texture of the madrona bark made for a slow return ride.

That’s it for this one.  Till next time.  Kat

Cap Sante Harbor

Cap Sante Harbor

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Bicycle, Birds, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cap Sante Headland

  1. I definitely want to do that ride! We go to Anacortes often due to the sailboat moored up there and Gere-A-Deli is a great lunch; soup & sandwich place.

Leave a Reply

