Winter Kayaking on Jetty Island

Headed out to sea

Headed out to sea

It was about 37 degrees, the sky was a slate grey color, and there was a thick marine layer of fog right on the deck… Yep, that sounds like kayak season to me.

Bundled up in fleece and waterproofs I launched just before high tide and headed for Jetty Island.  Remarkably, I had the entire island to myself.

Jellyfish

Jellyfish

This was the most colorful thing I saw on the whole trip.  Maybe some marine biologist will inspect this photo and tell me exactly what type of jellyfish it is.

So let’s get right down to the movie.  I used my Pentax W90 waterproof camera, and my Canon Vixia m500 video camera.  I was careful to keep the video camera in a rooftop pouch when I wasn’t filming.  It was just the thing to keep the drips and splashes off the unit.

Well as you can see from the video the sun never came out, but I did beat the rain, so I’d call that a success.

sandpipers

sandpipers

The blackish legs, winter coloration, and the way these birds were running along the beach tell me these guys were sanderling.

Tea Time

Tea Time

That’s it for now.  Till the next time.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Birds, Kayak, Photography, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

