Starting The New Yew Off Right!

Mountain Sunrise

Mountain Sunrise

When it comes to New Years Day traditions, I actually have two.

1) Make sure to start the new year off with some kind of outdoor event.  Anything like a kayak trip, hiking, snowshoe excursion, bicycle ride, or XC ski trip will set the tone for the rest of the year.

2) Pick your “year bird”.  Although some times your year bird actually picks you.  In case you didn’t know, your year bird is a theme bird for the rest of the year.  Many people say it should be the very first bird you see in the new year.  I’m not quite so stringent about that rule because that would make my year bird the Anna’s hummingbird EVERY year.  Those little guys are year round residents of my back porch, and the first bird noise I hear every morning.  A couple of years ago it was the snowy owl, because Susan and I hiked out to see a few snowy owls on New Years Day.

So, back to #1 for a minute:  Sunrise in the Cascade Mountains found me headed up to the Old Sauk River Trail.

Lush Green Forest

Lush Green Forest

This peaceful, moss covered wonderland was the perfect place to begin a new year of adventures.

Reflecting Pool

Reflecting Pool

Crystal clear mountain river water made a beautiful reflecting pool.

Morning fog on the river

Morning fog on the river

My trail followed right along the Sauk River, dodging into and out of the forest.

Walking the trail

Walking the trail

What a dork!

What a dork!

Dork. Geek. Gadget nerd.  Whatever you want to call it, I’m really not getting any better as the years roll on.  This was my camera setup for the preceding image.  Man I love that Gorilla Pod.

Interesting little waterfall

Interesting little waterfall

I had a delightful little hike of about 8-ish miles and and when I came upon this tiny little waterfall, surrounded by an impenetrable tangle of brush, I was sure there was a brilliant photograph hiding in there.  Just waiting for me to bash my way in and capture it.

Mini waterfall

Mini waterfall

That’s what I came back with, you be the judge.

Belted Kingfisher - iBird Pro image

Belted Kingfisher – iBird Pro image

Oh, and as for #2:  Belted Kingfisher nominated himself as my 2014 year bird.  His ratchety calls were scolding me all along the trail.  A fine choice I think.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Birding, Birds, Hiking, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Starting The New Yew Off Right!

  1. You surely hail from a beautiful state. Man!

  2. Looks like a great trail. Could you ride a mtn bike on it? Nice pic of the waterfall and that strange man walking the trail missing college football bowl games.

  3. Norma Jean Niemiec says:

    Another beautiful day in the Northwest-Great Pictures. U2 really know how to get the New Year started.

    Date: Thu, 2 Jan 2014 00:46:27 +0000 To: njniemiec@msn.com

  4. Lovely stuff & some fab pics in there. I never thought about having a year bird.
    Best wishes.
    Jeanette

Leave a Reply

