International Coffeeneuring – The Bonus Round

Peace Arch Park

Peace Arch Park

So… I’ve been having so much fun seeing all the great coffeeneuring stories and photos from around the globe that I thought I would go for another coffeeneuring adventure… A bonus round if you like.

I launched from Peace Arch Park, near Blaine, WA and rode across to White Rock BC, Canada.  The overall distance was only about 8-9 miles.  Oh wait a minute that should read 12.8 to 14.4 kilometers.

 

The obligatory border image

The obligatory border image

Rolling down the footpath from the parking area, across the lawns to the arch, insured that I’d have wet socks for the rest of the day.  But other than that the weather was fabulous.  Of course I had to stop for the mandatory Rockhopper straddling the international border image… Even if it was USA and Canada, not North and South Korea.

Haida Totems

Haida Totems

So just a word about how simple and bicycle friendly the Canadian crossing was.  I walked my bike right into a small glassed in hallway, showed my passport to the friendly customs agent and I was rolling again in about two minutes… What a breeze!

I’d scouted out a route through the Semiahmoo First Nation Reserve, that bordered Boundary Bay and crossed the Little Campbell River on a small foot bridge.  Brilliant! Almost zero cars.  Although when I got to the foot bridge I had to wait for a guy driving a riding lawn mower across the bridge… “Rush Hour”!

This was my first visit to the town of White Rock.  We’d passed by several times on the Amtrak train, and I always thought it had sort of a West Seattle vibe to it.  Lots of stylish condos overlooking a waterfront walking path.  The town was actually named for a large “white rock”.  A glacial erratic deposited on the beach during the last ice age.  In years past it was covered with bird guano, and served as a navigational beacon for sailors.  These days its just given a fresh coat of white paint every month.

White Rock pier

White Rock pier

I asked a local worker, “where’s the best place to get a cup of tea”.  He suggested, “Charlie Don’t Surf”, and pointed to a sidewalk cafe’ a block down the street.

Table side bike parking

Table side bike parking

I plopped in to a sun drenched chair and ordered a cup of English breakfast tea.  Although the chair was “sun drenched” I was still wearing my fleece and jacket.  It was November after all.

Tea Time at White Rock

Tea Time at White Rock

Before long I was back on the bike and headed for the border.  There was a slight delay however when I heard, above the tin of the traffic and construction noise, the unmistakeable sound of a bald eagle.  Scanning the treetops I spotted his nest and then the bird.  I paused to film the eagle from about five different places.

Eagle nest

Eagle nest

 

 

 

 

 

Here, have a look at the video:

Headed for home

Headed for home

Well that’s about it.  I’m gonna leave out the part about what a total Goat Rope it was to get back into the USA as a bicycle traveler.  And how I ended up in a confusing mass of humanity with several hundred other confused people being funneled through an unmarked, never moving queue at the CBP station.  Yikes!

Let’s just say, that part… Not a breeze!

Thanks for following along, till next time.

Kat

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Bicycle, Birding, Photography, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to International Coffeeneuring – The Bonus Round

  1. Norma Jean Niemiec says:

    Loved the trip thank you, love you, mom

    Sent from Windows Mail

  2. Very cool that you live so close to the border. What a great adventure!

Leave a Reply

