The Handcrafted Canoe Paddle

A cedar log in the marsh

A cedar log in the marsh

So along with the restoration of our 40 year old canoe I wanted to make some Jr. sized canoe paddles for when my grandsons get to go out “messing about” in the canoe.

I had a notion that I would just go out in the Snohomish River Delta and find a cedar log in one of the marshes and chop off a little piece, then bring it home and carve out a pint sized canoe paddle.

Have a look at the video:

How about a couple more photos:

Splitting with wedges

Splitting with wedges

Nice detail on the palm (the handle)

Nice detail on the palm (the handle)

Final stages - varnishing

Final stages – varnishing

This sure does look a lot like me

This sure does look a lot like me

After the deed was done I learned that it may not have been totally legal for a person to just go out and cut a chunk off a floating log… So, if this is the case, and any of my LEO pals are reading this… I’d like to say officially I was kidnapped by aliens and held on their space ship while the spacemen created a robotic clone of me and sent it to earth to shoot this video.  Yeah, that’s pretty much the way it happened.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Canoe, Dudes, Photography, Projects, Video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Handcrafted Canoe Paddle

  1. Dan says:

    I just found your blog. Holy Smokes, someone who blogs in Everett!! Great pictures of areas I’m very familiar with, since I’ve lived, biked, and kayaked in Everett for many years. Nice work.

  2. Brilliant post, Now I have to go and find some wood and make a paddle the more traditional way. Really nice work.

    • Jeff Katzer says:

      Thanks for the kind words. Glad you liked the post. I’m working on a laminated version of a little dude sized canoe paddle right now. I’ll post a little video of that in the future. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

