The Lumber Yard

IMG_1074

Dovetalis

So I tried my hand at cutting some traditional dovetails to form the corners of a wooden box.  They came out OK, but there is still a lot to learn before I get those perfected.

After finishing the final sanding and slapping on a coat of linseed oil, I decided it would be a perfect day to head out to the salt marsh, at the mouth of the Snohomish River.  I wanted to watch some birds and see what types of lumber the recent storms and flooding deposited for me.

Here is a little movie I made about my trip to the “Lumber Yard”.

 

A frosty Day

A frosty Day

So I have no idea what I’m gonna build from the lumber I collected today.  In the next few days I’ll get it cut into some slabs and then sticker it to dry for a year.

That’s it for now.  Hope you liked the video, and thanks for following along.  Gotta fly…  Kat

Sharp-shinned hawk

Sharp-shinned hawk

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Birding, Projects, Video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Lumber Yard

  1. pdonwllc@gmail.com says:

    great stuff kat! I always love seeing what you’re up to. makes me have a a big ol grin on my face! keep em coming! 😀 chap.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Neil says:

    That’s great Jeff! I hope to see what happens next! How long will it take for the timber to dry?

    • Jeff Katzer says:

      Thanks Neil, I’m starting to cut the log into smaller pieces now. I’ll get em stacked up and leave them for several months in the garden shed, then maybe move them inside (under the bed, but don’t tell Suzie). Then in about 6-8 months they will be dry enough to make into something.

  3. Great video, Jeff! Enjoyed seeing the snow geese along Springhetti Rd, too (my favorite local tree in that farm field beyond the geese). Very much enjoyed seeing your process of wood collecting. Nice storytelling, as always. Thanks for the treat, my friend.

Leave a Reply

