Handmade – Really!

A big cedar log at the Lumber Yard

A big cedar log at the Lumber Yard

Last November (2015) I did a little video and a story about thrashing around in the mud at the mouth of the Snohomish River, salvaging a little wood from one of the thousands of storm tossed logs, stranded on the marsh.

What for me was just a fun day walking along with my axe and a saw looking for the perfect piece of raw material, seemed to generate a question from several of my friends…”What are you going to make”?

Of course at the time I had no idea.  But I knew that whatever I was gonna make I needed to get the wood out of the river before the next big flood.  And the chunk of log would need to be cut into slabs and stickered to air dry for several months before I could do anything with it.

Inspecting a log

Inspecting a log

Its not all fun and games

Its not all fun and games

So with the upcoming birthday of our dear friend Camille, I though I would make her a little keepsake box.  A box made completely from one giant piece of salvaged timber.

 

This would be a good place to insert the video:

 

Happy Birthday Camille

Happy Birthday Camille

Happy Birthday Camille

Happy Birthday Camille

Susan and I ran down to Camille’s house the day before her birthday to present her with the keepsake box.  I’m delighted to report that she was very pleased and surprised with her gift.

So that’s about it for this one.  Thanks for following along.  Kat

 

 

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Photography, Projects, Video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Handmade – Really!

  1. Neil says:

    That’s so considerate of you! It’s great when you can line up your ducks like that and generate such a thoughtful gift. Thank you for sharing Jeff!

  2. “OMG!” Just saw your blog! Is that really you making the wooden box? That’s just great. Wish I could do that sort of thing. I just LOVE the smell of sawdust, too.

  3. John says:

    What an awesome gift. That is really awesome how you processed the wood! Excellent craftsmanship good sir. Thanks for putting together a video. Cheers

Leave a Reply

