Trail Cam Photos

We have had quite a lot of action on our Mowich Camp trail cam these past few months.

The Trail Cam

My children got this cool little stealth camera for me a couple of Father’s Days ago.  Remarkably, its still running on the original set of batteries.

I have moved it from one trail location to another over the months and we have been excited to check out the images each time we head up to the camp.

Sometimes we get lucky and have a big elk walking through camp and at other times, a blurry glimpse of the tail end of a crow flying past.

A few weeks ago I decided that I would direct the camera to capture images down along our slough.  I was certain that I would get lots of photos of the 3 or 4 families of ducks and ducklings that have been living very happily there.  But I also was looking to catch the river otter, skunks, raccoons, and the beavers that we’ve seen around the water.

Well, yesterday when I checked the camera I found it had recorded 1647 images!  The camera was programed to take a series of 4 quick images whenever something tripped the motion detector… But 1647 pictures… Yikes.

Well, as I expected ducks and crows made up most of the pics.  But there were a few fun photos.

Did you notice that temperature?  106 degrees!

And finally this guy:

There has been a great deal of beaver activity in our slough this year.  A few weeks ago we paddled our canoe down to the mouth of the slough where it joins the Yakima River and found a fairly elaborate beaver dam.  That explained why the water was higher than normal.

Concerned about the additional risk of springtime flooding, I jumped into the water and pulled some the dam apart, but I was sure the beavers would rebuild it within a night or two.

So today I loaded some tools in the canoe, climbed into my wetsuit and neoprene boots, and set off to investigate.

The old canoe ready to launch.

Here is a little video for you:

So, that’s my solution to the beaver activity for now, I’m gonna try to live and let live.  We’ll just have to keep an eye on the water levels and do a little periodic maintenance to keep the channel open.  The up side is we now have a really nice landing site down at the end of the slough where we can access the Yakima River.

Hanging out at the beach

In closing here is a shot of the Yakima River from our “beach”.  Not exactly tropical white sand and palm trees… but still, it’s pretty cool.

Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Canoe, Photography, Video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trail Cam Photos

  1. Timmer says:

    I love the candids!

  2. Burkett says:

    Cool pics Kat, always enjoy your adventures!

Leave a Reply

