The Morakniv Project

The raw materials

The raw materials

I decided it was time to try my hand at fabricating a little bushcraft knife.  So, I bought a Morakniv blank and got busy putting it all together.

Left over pieces and parts from other projects made up most of the build.

Of course the funny thing is that my old trusty Morakniv only cost about $3.00 more than the Morakniv blank that I bought to begin the project… But that’s not really the point now is it?

 

If you can stop laughing for a minute…

The video pretty much tells the whole story:

After the glue up

Before the glue up

The finished project

The finished project

A personal touch

A personal touch

I presented the knife to my pal as we began a motorbike camping trip.

Dan with his new knife

Dan with his new knife

 

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Bushcraft, Photography, Projects, Video and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Morakniv Project

  1. pdonwllc@gmail.com says:

    thanks for sending me your stuff Kat! I like seeing what you’re up to. chap

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. John says:

    Jeff, awesome video and work! great detail and care. you’ve raised the bar, I want to have another go at knife making now

  3. Timmer says:

    Another very nice video and a great present for your buddy. Glad to hear you had a great ride on the WABDR. I just finished the Best of Montana 1000 and may leave for another MT Dual Sport ride in a few weeks to pre-ride the 2016 BOM 1000..

  4. Dan says:

    What a great project, I really enjoyed the video and learned a lot! An incredible gift from an incredible friend, thank you so much!

  5. Pingback: WABDR Round II | The Adventure Journal

  6. Very very nice work!!! Complimenti! 👍🏻 Ciao Mattia

  7. honestme363 says:

    I have made many things in my life but never a knife ☺ interesting process and I especially like how you burnt? his intials into the handle. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

