The Cormorants

Ocean Kayak Scupper Pro

Ocean Kayak Scupper Pro - on Jetty Island

I was out on my kayak yesterday for a little voyage from Ebey’s Landing Waterfront Park in Marysville, down to 10th Street Marina in Everett.  Susan dropped me off at about 1100 and I intended to catch the last of the ebb tide out of Ebey Slough, and then cross the mouth of the Snohomish River delta and visit Jetty Island.  I had the van parked and waiting down at 10th Street, so the only logistical issue was…Would there be enough water on a 3.86 foot low tide to navigate across the tide flats?  Well, there almost was.  I did have to drag the kayak through ankle deep water in a few places.

I was expecting to see eagles, ospreys, great blue herons and the rest of the usual suspects.  What I didn’t expect was to be engulfed by hundreds of double-crested cormorants that were nesting on the mile long string of derelict pilings.

I made a little video of my trip:

And here are a couple of my favorite images from the day.

Double-crested cormorants

Double-crested cormorants

Double-crested cormorants waiting for some food

Double-crested cormorants waiting for some food

The Barges

The barges show some find "old world" craftsmanship

My Route

My Route

Well I hope you liked the adventure as much as I did.  Kat


About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Birds, Kayak, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

