A Bookcase for Baby Bat-Kat

My Helper

My Helper

Assignment:  Build a custom bookcase for Booker and Baby Bat-Kat’s room.

Question: What’s a “Bat-Kat”?

Answer:  That is the name Booker and I have given to his – soon to arrive – baby brother.

Booker and I took some measurements and sketched out a rough drawing.  A trip to the lumber store and it was time make some sawdust.

Actually, this time I was hoping to minimize the sawdust so I asked Susan to help by holding the shopvac hose right next to the skill saw, as I cut the pieces to length and cutout the notches for the back panel.  Brilliant!  What a difference a couple of skilled helpers can make.

My Other Helper

My Other Helper

The construction of the bookcase was pretty straight forward.  The shelves were screwed and glued in and I cut wooden plugs to cover the screw holes.  I cut out the back panel but left it unattached until after the sanding and staining just to make it easier for my helper to stain.

Here are a few photos of the process:

The Glue Up

The Glue Up

Testing the Stain

Testing the Stain

Suzie, Booker and I went down to Lowe’s to buy some quarter-round for the trim…Who knew it would be such and exciting trip.  Check out the video:

The finished cabinet had a very nice shine:

For the finale assembly we took the case over to Booker’s house.  Booker and I attached the back.

Attaching the Back

Attaching the Back

Hard @ Work

Hard @ Work

I figured we had better attach the bookcase to the wall, just in case someone tries to climb it like a ladder.

My Stud Finder

My Stud Finder

Found the Stud

Found the Stud

Booker couldn't wait to get his books on there...

Booker couldn't wait to get his books on there...

Testing the Bookcase

Testing the Bookcase

So we gave the bookcase one final test and confirmed it was gonna be kid proof.

Booker got all his books arranged on the shelves, and now all that remains is the arrival of Baby Bat-Kat…I can’t wait.  Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Dudes, Photography, Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

