Seattle Shoreline Bicycle Loop

The Loop

The Loop

How about a little urban nomad bicycle adventure?  Once again the promise of a partly sunny Sunday had me eager to roll out on the Seattle Shoreline Bicycle Loop.  This was a route that really was better on a clear and cold weekend day.  Minimal traffic on the roads and on the bicycle paths is not an easy combination to achieve on any day, but it is certainly more likely on a cool winter day.  You can follow along on the map, have a peek at the photos and assess for yourself.  My route began from Gas Works park on the north shore of Lake Union and continued clockwise along the black line.

Crossing Portage Bay

Crossing Portage Bay

That’s I-5 running on that double decker bridge.  I crossed on the Eastlake bridge, which had a nice separated bicycle lane.  Eastlake Ave, as the name suggests, runs along the eastern side of the lake, but I ditched that busy street pretty quickly.   My route involved all the little neighborhood roads right above the houseboat communities.

Mallard Cove

Mallard Cove

"Sleepless in Seattle"

“Sleepless in Seattle”

Bench

Bench

Of course this was Seattle, so one should always expect artsy, eclectic, colorful, unusual… You know, Goofy Seattle Stuff.

This tile covered bench was in a tiny little neighborhood green space overlooking the lake.

Onward to the south end of Lake Union and it’s industrial shipyards.

Shipyard Office

Shipyard Office

Just a short distance further was the Center For Wooden Boats.  On this morning the radio controlled “pond sailboats” were out in force.

Sailboats on the Pond

Sailboats on the Pond

Another pond user...

Another pond user…

I watched the sailboats glide in and out of the small flock of ducks that had also staked a claim to the protected little pond.

From there is was north’ish, up Westlake Ave.  At this point the “bike trail” is really just a slalom course through a series of parking lots… Now days all   Pay-To-Park parking, of course.

The foot bridge

The foot bridge

As I neared the Fremont area my eyes were drawn to this very old dilapidated railway, running under the Aurora high-rise bridge.

"Waiting for the interurban" ?

“Waiting for the interurban” ?

If you were waiting for the Interurban on this line… It was gonna be a really long wait.

Ship Canal Trail

Ship Canal Trail

I left the Fremont area for the time being, but I knew my loop would bring me back on the other side of the ship canal, allowing me to make the compulsory visit to Dusty Strings music shop.

I paralleled Nickerson Street on the canal trail all the way to Fisherman’s Terminal.  Then it was time to climb.  Up over Magnolia Bluffs to Discovery Park.

The views of Puget Sound from the bluffs were spectacular!  I wasn’t the only one who thought so because a beautiful bald eagle was enjoying the view too.

bald eagle

bald eagle

On the bluffsIt was a postcard perfect day out on the water.  The maritime forecast would use the term FAC… Flat and Calm.

Ah, but then the sun slid behind a cloud and I was reminded that it was still winter.  As if I couldn’t tell by the puffy down vest and the many layers of fleece clothing I was wearing.

It was time to get going and generate some body heat.  Discovery Park was next.

Old Fort Lawton

Old Fort Lawton

Mural at the Daybreak Center

Mural at the Daybreak Center

Killer Whales chased me..

Killer Whales chased me..

I followed Commodore Way to the Locks, and crossed back over to the north side of Salmon Bay.

Osprey nest on the RR bridge

Osprey nest on the RR bridge

The Locks

The Locks

Salmon Bay Cafe

Salmon Bay Cafe

Getting across the narrow walkways at the Locks was a bit of a stunt circus but I managed it without knocking any of the hapless tourists into the water.

The next thing on my “must do” list was some food.  I rolled up to the Salmon Bay Cafe and after a quick glance in the window I determined that it was “greasy spoon” enough for me.  The French dip sandwich was delicious, and about twice as big I expected.  Of course I couldn’t leave those French fries there to be wasted.  I wobbled away from that little diner thinking I wouldn’t need to eat again for about a week.

My next stop was Dusty Strings music, back in Fremont.  I was searching for a new soprano sized uke to keep my tenor ukulele company.  After strumming just about every one in the shop… The search continues…

So what trip to the Fremont Bridge would be complete without a visit to the “Waiting For The Interurban” statues.

Still Waiting...

Still Waiting…

These guys have been waiting for the Interurban Trolley (train) for decades.  I would have thought they would have given up by now and called a cab, or just walked off.  I will say they are one of the most photographed icons in the city and frequently decorated with festive clothing, hats, political signs, and flowers.  Don’t ask me how I know this, but if your Rockhopper falls over against that green metal support post there… It will decorate your top tube with some nasty scratches 😦

The Urban Nomad

The Urban Nomad

Well that just about completed the Seattle Shoreline Loop for me, but before I complete this story let me just give a huge thank you to all my loyal readers.

When I got home I had an email from WordPress.com outlining the 2012 stats for my little Adventure Journal.  I was a little embarrassed (not sure that’s the right word) to read that in 2012 my blog got 3,600 views in 68 different countries around the world.

Humbled.  Yep, that’s the right word.  Thank You.  Kat

About Jeff Katzer

Welcome friends. I'm a cyclist, hiker, motorbike rider, kayaker, photographer, videographer, ukulele player, snowshoer, XC skier, and BEST of all - a grandpa. Somewhere in that list above you'll find the theme of the Adventure Journal.
This entry was posted in Bicycle, Birds, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seattle Shoreline Bicycle Loop

  1. Bruce Bosman says:

    It’s good to see that you are still out braving the elements to enjoy the ride. Great post Jeff. Happy New Year!

  2. mtbtokyogirl says:

    wow! what a interesting place to ride around!! perfect weather made everything perfect!
    fantastic last ride for 2012!! Keep on riding and writing about your adventure!
    Oh btw, you reminded me that I should have written about the “after-ride-meal” as well! 😉
    Happy new year Kat!

  3. Kevin says:

    Nice story to wrap up 2012 JK. Loved the bald eagle photo and houseboats. Can’t wait to join you on one of your adventures in the new year. I may time it so Lexy and Charlie can join in! love bro!

Leave a Reply

